Word

We are back to real life, after the Christmas travels and fun times.  The Christmas tree is gone (burned), the decorations are packed, our house once again looks streamlined and functional, not festive and glowing.  Jordan is still working on our rental property daily, hoping to have it ready soon, so I have had plenty of time to think about this new year and ponder the changes I would like to make in it.

It seems like most of the people I know are picking a word for the year, rather than making resolutions.  I see their point, but one word for the whole year seems a little narrow and possibly a bit vague.  So, I think I will focus on a word for the month.

January’s word will be….rhythm.  Post-Christmas season always seems like the perfect time to clean up your life/home/schedule and rediscover a rhythm that flows with the wintery days.  I know that the boys and I have really been working on developing a good routine, and it has been very peaceful as a result.  There is a new-baby phase awaiting us just around the corner, and then Jordan’s annual summer craziness of busy weekends and lots of traveling, and then gardening and canning and a whole autumn of preparing for the holidays and putting up produce, so for now I want to focus on the simplicity of doing the same thing, day in and day out, and enjoying those little routines.  It is hard for me to let go of the need to be fanatically busy, but really, having enough time to whip up a pan of brownies with my two little helpers, or sort through newborn clothes  is quite pleasant!

As far as New Year’s goals go, I do have a few of those, but they involve things like, potty training Jordan before little Michael arrives, and uninteresting stuff like that.  After months of doing my best to ‘forget’ that I am pregnant, I am finally focusing on Baby’s upcoming arrival, and am getting super excited at the realization that I am about 8 weeks away from holding my little newborn son!  For some reason, even though I experienced morning sickness for the first time with this pregnancy, I have been way more comfortable than I was with Jordan and especially with William!  I like to think God is being merciful to me, as the last three month’s of my pregnancy with William were physically and emotionally stressful to the point of almost daily tears.  So far, I still haven’t experienced that awful “I can’t breathe” sensation that haunted me from 20 weeks onward with both boys, and particularly disrupted my sleep. And the heartburn, while bad, has yet to become unmanageable.  I am so, so thankful for that!

I am also thankful to be starting the New Year in our new house.  It feels like home!  Our beautiful, perfect home. There are just no words to describe how nice it has been to feel secure in a house that can hold our growing family, complete with a yard big enough for a garden.  Super, super happy about that!  So thankful God has blessed us with these amazing physical blessings!

Leave a Reply

