Epiphany

Realization for the day:

It doesn’t matter how clean my house is, how organized my new cupboards.

It doesn’t matter how many jars of food I put up, or how much money I save my family through thrifty grocery and clothes shopping.

It doesn’t matter how many homemade Christmas presents I make.

It doesn’t matter if dinner is on time.  Or burnt.  Or even non-existent.

It doesn’t matter if I get an extra hour of sleep because I feel like I need it.

If I don’t spend time with God, if I don’t love Him, and live for Him, and make the time to read His Words and obey them, NOTHING ELSE REALLY MATTERS.  I struggle with the old “Martha” syndrom, ignoring that which is needful in place of that which seems (or is) urgent.  I obsess over getting and keeping things organized, accomplishing all my self-allotted homemaking tasks, and keeping up with the laundry and all of it is in vain because my heart and mind are a million miles away from the God who saved me, the God who loves me and who holds the reins of my life in His loving hands.

Leave a Reply

