23 weeks of Happiness!

There we are, me and Baby!  I am 23 weeks into this motherhood adventure, and it has been purely a joy so far.  It took awhile for Baby to make his presence visible, but at last, I think he is “out there” for people to see, and while I still get the occasional “Wow, you don’t look pregnant at all” comment, I think people only say so to be polite.

It is amazing how absorbing Baby is!  Jordan and I both find ourselves thinking more and more of this little guy (or girl), although we have never heard his voice or seen his face (or changed one of his smelly diapers!).  As summer nears, and school – for Jordan – ends, we are focusing a lot on home improvements, all of which center around making a better “nest” for this little “birdling”.

The other day, I looked out my living room window, while knitting a tiny baby sweater, and saw some birds in our front yard hopping around, picking at the grass.  At first, I sighed, and thought they were eating our grass seed.  Then, I realized they were picking up pieces of the straw we had laid.  It was so cute!  Each bird would waddle through the grass, tilting his head from side to side, until it came upon a piece that looked just right.  Immediately, he would pick up the piece, weigh it in his beak, then drop it and continue his search until he found one that REALLY WAS PERFECT.  They were building they’re nests, just like we are!  Only, we don’t use straw.  We use Kilz for the smoke stains on the walls, and a fresh coat of paint; we use cloth diapers, and little onsies, freshly washed and neatly stacked; we use hand knit sweaters, and re-conditioned hand-me-down rocking chairs.

The terrible thing is….we have 17 weeks of this left.  If we are preparing so anxiously now, what will it be like in two months?  How in the world do people wait that long? 😉

2 thoughts on “23 weeks of Happiness!

  1. Ha! Found you!
    You look wonderful! It’s good you’re doing it now because toward the end you probably won’t feel up to it.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I agree that it’s hard to wait for the baby to come. Some days, it seems like an eternity! (Others, I start freaking out with all we have to do). We’re trying to get our house ready (or at least semi-ready) for baby too, so I can definitely relate!

Leave a Reply

